facebook facebook contacts

Anthony Anciaux

Anthony studied Political Science and Sociology at the Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB). He learnt the art of photography during workshops in Arles (France) and at the Institut provincial des Arts et Métiers du Centre (IPAM) in La Louvière with Véronique Vercheval and Alain Breyer. He reports the incursions of our American dreams within the Walloon folklore and folk culture with much tenderness.

"I explore Wallifornia with my camera. Wallifornia is the territory which extends from Wallonia to the boundaries of our imagination."

Anne-Sophie Costenoble

Born in Courtrai, Belgium, Anne-Sophie studied physiotherapy, art history and later devoted herself to photography. Attending workshops led her work to take on a narrative and poetic form.

"Photography invites me to take time. I let myself be guided by serendipity and encounters, curiosity and questions, trying to seize the moment that touches me or the unspoken story. I try to be fair."

Laure Geerts

Born in 1978 in Oupeye, Belgium, Laure studied Business and Management in Brussels. She had been working since many years in marketing when she discovered photography at the Contraste workshops. She quickly realized that the camera allowed her to approach communities and people that she would never have dared to approach otherwise. Deciding to become a full-time photographer, she bases her work on humanity, whilst focusing her tender and pure view on documenting its issues.

"Photography is for me a pretext to meet, a way to look at some closed worlds and to understand them, to reveal their complex fragility."

Hector Martin Moreno

Born in Palencia, Spain, in 1974, Hector studied Economics in Valladolid before starting to work as an accountant for ten years, first in Madrid and later in Brussels. He shot his first photos for a small NGO which he helped create with some friends in Uganda, having as a purpose to help street children in Kampala. Back in Brussels, he followed photography courses at the Contraste workshops. After a few years, he decided to give up accounting and become a full-time photographer. Infinite reservoir of expressions of diversity, the streets became his favourite field to observe human behaviour.

"Observe, admire, doubt, have patience, question, feel that emotion that pushes you to want to condensate everything in one instant that doesn't exist anymore..."

Marie Ozanne

Born in 1980 in Orléans, France, she studied Political Sciences and Sociology in Lille. Her interest in Arts led her to voice her explorations and observations of society through image. In 2003, she began to practice documentary photography at the Contraste workshops in Brussels before studying Art Sciences at La Sorbonne. She has photographed and taught photography in different countries before settling in Brussels. Her work has evolved from documentary photography to a photography that borders fabrication, in between reality and fiction, and continues to teach.

"Photography helps me to draw guidelines of reality in order to understand its meaning; it reveals the strangeness of the world and of existence."

Stéphanie Pety de Thozée

Born in Liège in 1978, Stéphanie moved to Brussels to become a Primary School teacher. After some years of experience, including one in Mali, the wish to meet people and to travel led her to leave this post. She returned to West Africa to carry out a first photographic project on women’s work. Afterwards, she attended Contraste workshops in Brussels where she explored the language of photography in depth. Her desire to immerse herself in an environment to understand it brought her to mix photography with the work of Catherine Lievens, which is based on sound and writing. Their common project on women’s work is named ‘Muso Baara’. Today, she manages the Ikono gallery in Brussels, dedicated to photography.

"By taking a camera in your hands, it is possible to open a space of communication and to meet… Here and abroad."

Anne Ransquin

Anne Ransquin, photographer of the Caravane Belgian collective left us on August 13, 2013 at the age of 39.

Widely travelled and friend maker, her photographical work was born out of her unfailing thirst for discovery and encounters. During the last two years of her life, marked by death and illness, photography became for her a true way to express her fight for life and her unconditional love for those around her. Her work “collige rosas” give us an intimate and poignant testimony that alludes with humility the difficulties and the hopes of her daily life. Her pictures show us her intense relationship with the world and are, according to her own words, “like stones in your pocket that you scatter along the way or that you preciously keep.”

The courage and the strength of Anne have deeply impacted those close to her, her friends, her family and her partner, photographer Jorge Luis Alvarez Pupo.

facebook contacts

Anthony Anciaux

Anthony a étudié les sciences politiques et la sociologie à l’université de Bruxelles. Il s’est formé à la photographie lors de workshops à Arles et à l’école de La Louvière avec Véronique Vercheval et Alain Breyer. Il documente avec beaucoup de tendresse les incursions de nos rêves américains dans le folklore et la culture populaire Wallonne.

"Grâce à mon appareil photo, j’explore la Wallifornie, ce territoire qui s’étend de la Wallonie jusqu’aux frontières de notre imaginaire."

Anne-Sophie Costenoble

Après des études de kinésithérapie et d’histoire de l’art, Anne-Sophie Costenoble découvre la pratique photographique lentement en découvrant le monde. La fréquentation d’ateliers de photographie, les rencontres amènent son travail à prendre une forme narrative et poétique.

« La photographie m’invite à être attentive et me permet d’appréhender le monde. Je me laisse guider par l’intuition à la recherche d’une intensité émotionnelle. Comme les mots sur les pages d’un livre, les images se mettent à vivre leur propre vie. Un récit prend forme. »

Laure Geerts

Née en 1978 à Oupeye, Laure étudie les sciences commerciales à l’ICHEC à Bruxelles. Elle travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le marketing lorsqu’elle découvre la photographie à l’atelier Contraste. Elle réalise vite que l’appareil photo lui permet d’approcher des milieux et des personnes qu’elle n’aurait jamais osé aborder autrement. Elle décide alors d’exploiter à plein temps l’écriture photographique, particulièrement celle du documentaire centré sur l’humain.

"La photographie est pour moi prétexte à la rencontre, un moyen de porter un regard sur certains mondes fermés et de les comprendre pour en révéler la fragile complexité."

Hector Martin Moreno

Né en 1974 à Palencia en Espagne, Hector étudie l’économie à Valladolid puis travaille pendant dix ans comme comptable à Madrid et Bruxelles. II commence la photographie lors d’un séjour en Ouganda pour la Maison des Enfants du Monde, petite ONG qu’il a créée avec quelques amis venant en aide aux enfants des rues de Kampala. De retour à Bruxelles, il suit les cours de l’atelier Contraste et se lance comme photographe. Réservoir infini d’expressions des diversités, la rue devient son terrain de prédilection pour observer les comportements humains.

"Observer, admirer, douter, patienter, questionner, sentir cette émotion qui te pousse à vouloir tout condenser en un seul instant qui n’existe plus..."

Marie Ozanne

Née à Orléans en 1980, Marie étudie à l’Institut d’Etudes Politiques de Lille. La photographie lui apparaît alors comme une voix évidente pour combiner sa sensibilité artistique à l’exploration du monde social. Après une année à l’atelier de photographie Contraste, elle se spécialise en sciences de l’art. Son goût pour la découverte de différents horizons l’amène à photographier et enseigner la photographie dans différents pays, notamment au Mexique. Installée à Bruxelles, elle explore aujourd’hui une photographie aux lisières de la mise en scène et poursuit dans l’enseignement.

"La photographie m’aide à dessiner les contours du réel pour en décrypter le sens, elle révèle l’étrangeté du monde et de l’existence."

Stéphanie Pety de Thozée

Née à Liège en 1978, Stéphanie s’installe à Bruxelles pour suivre des études d’institutrice primaire. Après quelques années d’expérience dont une au Mali, l’envie de rencontres et de voyages l’amène à quitter son poste. Elle retourne en Afrique de l’Ouest pour réaliser un premier projet photographique sur le travail des femmes. C’est ensuite à l’atelier Contraste à Bruxelles qu’elle explore en profondeur le langage photographique. L’envie de s’investir dans un milieu pour le comprendre la pousse à mêler ses photographies au travail de son et d’écriture de Catherine Lievens pour leur projet commun sur le travail des femmes, « Mùso Baara ». Aujourd’hui, elle gère à Bruxelles la galerie ikono dédiée à la photographie.

"Prendre un appareil photographique en main, c’est ouvrir un possible espace de communication, de rencontre… ici et ailleurs."

Anne Ransquin

Anne Ransquin, photographe du collectif belge Caravane, nous a quittés le 13 août 2013 à l’âge de 39 ans.

Grande voyageuse et tisseuse d’amitiés, son travail photographique est né de sa soif inaltérable de découvertes et de rencontres. Au cours des deux dernières années marquées par le deuil et la maladie, la photographie est devenue pour elle un véritable moyen d’exprimer son combat pour la vie et son amour inconditionnel pour les êtres qui l’entourent. Son travail « collige rosas » nous livre un témoignage intime et poignant qui évoque avec pudeur les difficultés et les espoirs qui ont jalonné son quotidien. Ses images nous font part de son rapport si intense au monde et sont, d’après ses mots, «autant de cailloux en poche que l’on sème en chemin ou qu’on garde précieusement ».

Le courage et la force d’Anne ont profondément marqué son entourage, ses amis, sa famille et son conjoint, le photographe Jorge Luis Alvarez Pupo.