facebook facebook contacts

Laure Geerts

Born in 1978 in Oupeye, Belgium, Laure studied Business and Management in Brussels. She had been working since many years in marketing when she discovered photography at the Contraste workshops. She quickly realized that the camera allowed her to approach communities and people that she would never have dared to approach otherwise. Deciding to become a full-time photographer, she bases her work on humanity, whilst focusing her tender and pure view on documenting its issues.

"Photography is for me a pretext to meet, a way to look at some closed worlds and to understand them, to reveal their complex fragility."

 

Single photographer...

Belgium 2013

"Single Photographer seeking model for temporary exhibition or permanent collection... "

slideshow sheet

 

Prison video

Belgium - 2011-2013

Is it possible to imagine a prison with a human face? These photographs try to tell Belgian penitentiary life as close as possible to reality, through the faces of the inmates, of the jail-keepers and of the social workers.

slideshow

 

Prison

Belgium - 2011-2013

Is prison a place from where people come out even more dangerous than before entering it? How to reconcile the punitive role of a prison sentence with the educational value of the sentence? Is it possible to imagine a prison with a human face? These photographs try to tell Belgian penitentiary life as close as possible to reality, through the faces of the inmates, of the jail-keepers and of the social workers.

slideshow sheet

 

Kurgans

Belgium 2010-2013

Immersion in a bikers club from Liège.

slideshow sheet

 

Turkish ladies

Istanbul 2009-2010

Portraits of ladyboys, transgenders in a city full of paradoxes and ambivalences.

slideshow sheet

 

Out of Wallonia

Belgium 2008-2012

For over more than a century, this folkloric feast sees two teams face each other, the Blues and the Reds. This celebration reflects the festive and demonstrative spirit of the people of Liège. For them, folklore is an opportunity to gather family and friends in a big collective moment of joy.

slideshow sheet

 

Piémanson

France 2008-2009

Travel around the last beach in France having a form of temporary, free and self-managed occupation on a sea bordering natural territory.

slideshow sheet

facebook contacts

Laure Geerts

Née en 1978 à Oupeye, Laure étudie les sciences commerciales à l’ICHEC à Bruxelles. Elle travaille depuis plusieurs années dans le marketing lorsqu’elle découvre la photographie à l’atelier Contraste. Elle réalise vite que l’appareil photo lui permet d’approcher des milieux et des personnes qu’elle n’aurait jamais osé aborder autrement. Elle décide alors d’exploiter à plein temps l’écriture photographique, particulièrement celle du documentaire centré sur l’humain.

"La photographie est pour moi prétexte à la rencontre, un moyen de porter un regard sur certains mondes fermés et de les comprendre pour en révéler la fragile complexité."

 

Photographe célibataire...

Belgique 2013

«Photographe célibataire cherche modèle pour expo temporaire ou collection permanente...»

slideshow sheet

 

Destination carcérale (vidéo)

Belgique - 2011-2013

Est-il possible d’imaginer une prison à visage humain ? Ce documentaire tente de raconter au plus près la réalité des établissements pénitentiaires au travers de visages, de lieux et de témoignages.

slideshow

 

Destination carcérale

Belgique - 2011-2013

La prison est-elle un lieu d’où l’on sort encore plus dangereux qu’avant d’y entrer? Comment concilier le rôle punitif de la peine d’emprisonnement et la valeur pédagogique de la peine? Est-il possible d’imaginer une prison à visage humain? Ces photographies tentent de raconter la réalité des établissements pénitentiaires belges.

slideshow sheet

 

Kurgans

Belgique 2010-2013

Immersion au sein d'un club de motards de la région liégeoise.

slideshow sheet

 

De l'une à l'autre

Istanbul 2009-2010

Portraits d'hommes-femmes, transgenres, dans une ville pleine d’ambivalences et de paradoxes.

slideshow sheet

 

Out of Wallonia

Belgique 2008-2012

Depuis plus d’un siècle, deux équipes s’affrontent dans le village, les Bleus contre les Rouges. Plongée dans un folklore qui reflète l’esprit festif et démonstratif des liégeois pour qui le folklore est l’occasion de réunir famille et amis dans un grand moment de liesse collective.

slideshow sheet

 

Piémanson

France 2008-2009

Itinérance en bord de mer sur la plage de Piémanson. Chaque été, en caravane pour la saison ou sous tente le temps d'un week-end, famille et amis de la région et d'ailleurs se retrouvent en Camargue pour partager quelques rares moments de liberté.

slideshow sheet