facebook facebook contacts

Hector Martin Moreno

Born in Palencia, Spain, in 1974, Hector studied Economics in Valladolid before starting to work as an accountant for ten years, first in Madrid and later in Brussels. He shot his first photos for a small NGO which he helped create with some friends in Uganda, having as a purpose to help street children in Kampala. Back in Brussels, he followed photography courses at the Contraste workshops. After a few years, he decided to give up accounting and become a full-time photographer. Infinite reservoir of expressions of diversity, the streets became his favourite field to observe human behaviour.

"Observe, admire, doubt, have patience, question, feel that emotion that pushes you to want to condensate everything in one instant that doesn't exist anymore..."

 

Urban agriculture

Brussels 2009-2012

This work turned our gaze on the artisans of vegetable gardens, of collective gardens and Brussels’ urban farms that tirelessly try to find a breath of fresh air in the heart of the city, in their neighborhood...

slideshow sheet

 

Strangers

Brussels 2011 - in progress

Women and men bumped into, randomly in the street. A brief exchange, a single instruction and a ballet follows. Improbable two minutes before, strange to the passersby and probably even for those improvising it.

slideshow sheet

 

Street fashion

Italy, Belgium 2007-2008

slideshow sheet

facebook contacts

Hector Martin Moreno

Né en 1974 à Palencia en Espagne, Hector étudie l’économie à Valladolid puis travaille pendant dix ans comme comptable à Madrid et Bruxelles. II commence la photographie lors d’un séjour en Ouganda pour la Maison des Enfants du Monde, petite ONG qu’il a créée avec quelques amis venant en aide aux enfants des rues de Kampala. De retour à Bruxelles, il suit les cours de l’atelier Contraste et se lance comme photographe. Réservoir infini d’expressions des diversités, la rue devient son terrain de prédilection pour observer les comportements humains.

"Observer, admirer, douter, patienter, questionner, sentir cette émotion qui te pousse à vouloir tout condenser en un seul instant qui n’existe plus..."

 

Urban agriculture

Bruxelles 2009-2012

Ce travail pose un regard sur les artisans des potagers, des jardins collectifs et des fermes urbaines de Bruxelles qui cherchent inlassablement à trouver une bouffée d´air frais au coeur de leur ville, de leur quartier...

slideshow sheet

 

Strangers

Bruxelles 2011 - en cours

Des femmes et des hommes croisés au hasard de la rue. Un bref échange, une seule consigne et s’ensuit un ballet improbable deux minutes auparavant, étrange aux passants et sans doute même aussi à ceux qui l’improvisent.

slideshow sheet

 

Street fashion

Italie, Belgique 2007-2008

slideshow sheet